When You Look At Me, What Do You See?

Posted: May 7, 2016 in Life Stories, Poems
Tags: ,

Stop!

Take a look at me.

What do you see?

You can see my clothing; t-shirt and shorts

You can see my skin colour; black

You can see my gender; male

You can see my hair and eyes; dark brown

But what about the things you can’t see?

Can you see all the mistakes I’ve made?

Can you see the people I’ve hurt?

Can you see the places I’ve been?

Can you see the places I’ve worked?

Some things are not so obvious

Some things I will have to share

Some things will always be hidden

Even if I were standing here bare.

But, back to what you can see though

Can you see that I am happy?

Can you see I am sorry?

Can you see that I have forgiven?

Can you seen that I have grown?

Can you see that I’ve sinned?

Can you see I’ve fallen short?

Can you see I have been trying?

It has been challenging from the start.

I am all these things you see and more;

I am a child of God.

I am a son of a Great King.

So,

I am a lot of things

Both good and bad

So next time you see my face

Remember I’m only a sinner

Showered in mercy and saved by Grace.

Comments
  1. myssfedora says:

    It was sure worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

