Forever Starts Now- Day 14

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Life Stories
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I must say… yesterday was AMAZING!

My first Sabbath after my baptism and I don’t think I’ve ever felt this way about church and the Lord before. It was and is definitely a great feeling.

God truly is good.

I have a lot of stuff to share with you guys so sit back and enjoy.

This morning at Sabbath School we were told

“Christianity which does not start with the individual, does not start. And similarly, Christianity which ends with the individual, ends.”

What does this mean? What do you think it means?

Well it’s simple. For us to start on the journey of being a Christian, we must first start with ourselves and making ourselves right with the Lord. That’s the only way you can start. And on the other end, If we end with ourselves we aren’t really Christians because it has to end with the Lord. We find Him first and we stay with Him. He has to be there all the way. We don’t just find Him and then leave Him by the way.

The Lord has told us that He will always be with us. We were also told that the journey with God to His kingdom is not always going to be peachy because the devil is busy and there will be tests and trials. However, the Lord promises He will be there.

Isaiah 43:2

“When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.”

Again in Joshua 1:9

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.”

I know He is always with me. He always was. He brought me to this point now and I am happy.

 

The next topic at Sabbath School was “Living in Hope”. To hope is to anticipate something, or  to desire with expectation of a fulfillment. We as Christians are living in hope because we expect to inherit God’s kingdom that he has promised us. We are living in hope and walking by faith.

That’s hope I’m keeping. What about you? Do you have hope?

 

Moving onto the sermon; the topic was “The House of Life. Upright or Crooked?”

The title alone says a lot. The preacher was asking us if Jesus was to come to our house now would we need to run and hide stuff, and run and change clothes, and run and do this and that. He addressed both our physical houses and our spiritual houses and he compared the two.

I enjoyed the sermon.

 

I left and went home to eat and I got a little rest. A couple hours passed and I was back out for AY (Adventist Youth).

We sang some songs that I hadn’t heard or sang in ages but that I loved. At the same time, some others that I loved popped into my head too and I was singing in my head.

These are the songs:

~All my help, comes from the Lord

~As the deer

~Lord I want to be a Christian in my heart

and

~Lord I lift your name on high

 

I find myself still singing this songs up to now 🙂

 

The topic at AY was “Giants” … The guy spoke first about the “Giant of Failure” and then the “Giant of Temptation”. Two giants that we know of oh too well. Well no giant is too big for us with God with us. The story of David and Goliath was mentioned. Goliath put his trust in his size and strength, whereas David put his trust in the Lord. And even though David was so small, he was able to defeat the giant because he had God with him.

 

I want want God with me for the very same reason. No giant is going to defeat me because God is going to bring me out on top.

 

We got into groups and we had to either write a poem, write a song or do role playing on the topic of Giants.

That was fun. The group I was in wrote a pretty cool little song. I wish I had the lyrics we came up with to share with you. It was both funny and to the point. The other group did a poem, the next sang too and the last did role playing.

 

I had an enjoyable Sabbath with my fellow Christians.

 

Comments
  1. My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness, I dare not trust the sweetest frame but wholly lean on Jesus name!

Leave a Reply

