Forever Starts Now- Day 1

Posted: May 6, 2012 in Life Stories
Tags: , , , ,

Well this is a new blog I’m starting from today. I’m going tell you guys what is so special about this post. Yes, I did say special. This is going to be a blog taking you on a journey with me as I seek God and as I change my life to live for him so that I may inherit his kingdom.

I grew up in the church and I enjoyed it as a young boy but I was nothing more than a young boy who was sent to church. As I grew up I sill attended but I never made a serious decision to give my life to the Lord and live for him.

There were a few times that something, said in the sermon, hit home and made me conscious about what I was doing and what I wasn’t doing. Unfortunately that was still not enough to make me change me life.

From then on, many other life changing events, like the loss of my dad when I still young, opened up my eyes but I still didn’t take heed.

I always knew in my heart that I wanted to and that I needed to change, but I just didn’t know how to or where to start. Additionally, the fact that I stopped going to church because I got busy otherwise didn’t help the situation.

Well fast forwarding to the present, just last week I was faced with another eye opener. It got me to thinking.

I am 22 years old and no one has forever put down on this earth, however God promises forever for those who live for him and in him.

I went to church tonight, at a Seventh Day Adventist crusade, and the message tonight was powerful and it seemed like it was exactly what I needed to hear at this particular point in my life. The speaker, Evangelist Roosevelt Daniels, focused on a piece of scripture, “If thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments”. ‘Life’ being God’s kingdom (everlasting life).

Today is Sunday May 6th, 2012. Today is the day I’ve decided to change. Next week I’m going to be baptized and be born again in the Lord.

I made my decision tonight.

When I die, I want to live forever in heaven with God and all of his people.

It’s probably going to be a hard road but it is the one I’m choosing now to trod.

You are free to come along with me.

Comments
  1. jeffrusk says:

    I started down this road 40 years ago. Is it a hard road? Yes, but very real. At least it gets more real the farther down the road I go. Or I should say I finally get more real. My words of encouragment are you have a heavenly Father, Jesus, real brother and a counselor and comforter in the Holy Spirit. Plus the bonus of your uncle. You are not alone any more.

  2. WOW … ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m really happy for you Sheldon & I’ll be here with you all the way

  3. Wow, I don’t cry easily but you just made me! I’m sooooo happy for you, honestly I’ve been praying you’d be saved and come to accept Him into your heart; it’s the best decision anyone ever makes and though it has its challenges the comfort is that God is with yu every step of the way. Welcome to the family!

Leave a Reply

