Closed Eyes

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Poems
Tags: , , ,

From the time my eyes opened

Society trained me to see.

That training blinded me.

Take that literally or figuratively,

It’s all the same to me.

I saw the world through tainted eyes.

I saw things in black and white.

Again, take that as you may.

Through my eyes I only saw what was.

No one taught me to see more.

But I did.

And I did it by accident.

I closed my eyes and something amazing happened;

I saw the world.

This time it was different.

I saw everything with my mind.

Black and white became shades of grey.

Who knew they could blend.

As I looked at the world,

I saw what I saw before,

But I also saw more.

I saw what could be;

All the possibilities.

Shades of grey became colour.

Everything seemed bright.

Who knew what I saw was the same world.

The only thing different was the way I looked at it.

That was a dream.

A dream I had.

A dream I have.

There’s more than meets the eye.

Close your eyes and you will see.

Comments
  1. Maggie Mae I says:

    Beautiful, enlightenment, awakening. I can relate to this!

  2. jay says:

    Isn’t terrible the way you can see life a million different ways but in the end the facts stay the same.

Leave a Reply

