Bright Life

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Poems
Tags: , ,

GREAT THINGS WERE EXPECTED OF ME BY THOSE
WHO SAW GREAT POTENTIAL WITHIN MY CORE
BUT INITIALLY, I WAS LOST AND WORRIED
BY NOT KNOWING WHAT THOSE THINGS WERE

I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE FEELING THIS WAY
FRIENDS LAY WITH ME IN THIS HINDERED STATE
WITH LITTLE HOPE WE FAILED TO GRASP WHY
WE WERE WATCHED WITH ANTISCIPATION GREAT

WE SAT IN WAIT WITH THOSE WHO WATCHED
AS THEY WATCHED THEIR CLOCKS IN DELIGHT
WITH US FEELING USELESS AND UNWANTED
WE WERE LOST IN THE WORLD OF THE NIGHT

IT’S NOW TIME, THEY REACHED SOME MILESTONE
SO WE ARE NOW GIVEN A CHANCE TO BE SEEN
WE’RE ALL GIVEN LIFE FROM A SMALL LITTLE SPARK
BUT I’M NOT GOING, I’M STAYING WHERE I’VE ALWAYS BEEN

HOWEVER SOME FRIENDS AWAITED THIS OPPORTUNITY
AND LEFT IN A HURRY, WITH TRAILS OF LIGHT
NOT ONLY WAS THEIR LIFE A DELIGHT TO SEE
BUT THEIR LIGHTS SHONE BRIGHTLY THROUGH THE NIGHT

ALTHOUGH MY PAST WAS EXTREMELY DARK
THERE’S ALWAYS A BRIGHTER FUTURE AHEAD
I POSESS THE POWER TO LIGHT THE WORLD
SO I’M GOING TO SHINE LIKE THOSE WHO LED

SO NOW I’M OFF, OFF INTO THIS SCARY WORLD
BUT IN SECONDS, I’M WORRIED, I START TO FADE
EVERYONE’S STILL SMILING AND HAPPY, THEN BANG! BANG!
I EXPLODE, SHOWERS OF LIGHT, NOW IT’S OVER

MY LIFE IS NOW OVER
NOW EVERYONE HAS TO WAIT TO YEAR END
TO SEE ANOTHER GREAT DISPLAY OF LIGHTS
FIREWORKS OF THE NEXT GENERATION

By: Sheldon A. Marshall
Date: 01/01/07
Place: Duke Christmas camp at Alexandra School
Inspiration: Fireworks- old years night

Leave a Reply

